Monday, April 2, 2012

Ignorance must be bliss.

I am sorry to inform you that this is not a piece of the series that I had been writing, and that hopefully I will be able to start that up again. But as of right now I am irritated and I am going to rant about it. If it offends you feel free to leave a fucking comment, I will appreciate it.

But the topic at hand is money. My sorority, which most of you know I am in has been looking at getting hoodies. Now we are not getting them under the sororities money we are doing it ourselves. That is if everyone can afford it. We had decided, or so we thought, on a hoodie with the greek letter for Xi on the back. It was a perfect idea considering that there are so many sororities that start with Alpha and we are the only Xi. But now we have apparently decided one a different one that will cost more. Yes it has been pointed out to me that it is only a 2 dollar difference BUT what is apparently hard for them to understand is that 2 dollars is a big fucking deal. When you pay for your rent, and utilities and food and everything else you need 2 dollars means a fucking lot. Saving 2 dollars may help you get through food, or gas for your car considering it is going up ridiculously. Now that I had made that point, the people who don't care are the people who do not pay for anything themselves. They don't pay for their gas, their rent, their utilities, or anything their parents either put money into their account or they have credit cards that their parents pay for. I am so tired of the attitude that we can get anything because no not all of us can. Wake up from dream land and walk into the real world. I work for the extra money I have and usually it goes to something I need. I haven't bought the awesome crest sweater we have, the purple xi love shirts we have, the yoga pants, the other lounge sweaters, or the things we have to sell because I simply couldn't afford the idea of 35-40 dollars a pop. Now yes I was going to buy the Xi sweater it was 38 dollars. I was going to make it work, I had gotten paid extra and it would be fine.

I am fortunate enough to have parents and family that love me and help me when I need help. But I am not going to ask my mommy or daddy, or my grandparents to put money in my account for a sweater. Yes I did ask my mom for help when we were getting the house we live in now, and I am so freaking thankful that she helped. Austin and I are poor college students. I pay for college on grants and student loans, the loans are going to amount to my only debt. I don't have a credit card, and I am not going to get one to put everything the damn sorority buys on it because if I couldn't afford it from the money I have, I couldn't afford the payments with interest.

People have no clue that the idea of poor college student isn't just because they go out and buy alcohol. Yes I have done that but I do not do it often and usually it lasts me a while if I go to the liquor store. I have a limit of cash when I go down town, and that is it. I make 7.50 and hour and I get 10.5 hours a week. That amounts to about a 165.7 dollar pay check every two weeks. I don't live beyond my means, and for fuck sake I am trying to plan a wedding which isn't going to be an expensive one like some people want because I don't see them footing the fucking bill. Anyways that is another rant... but some people just have the mindset that if they can pay for it so can we (the people who work for the money they have). I don't get money when I bat my eyes, I get it because I bust my ass.

I am tired of people telling me that we need to look unified, well guess what if you want to buy something for me go right ahead because I can tell you if I can't afford it I ain't going to get it.

well now that I am done with my rant I will sign off.

Tschuss